Introduction & Overview

American Samoa's islands are located in the heart of the Polynesian, with Hawaii, Rapanui (Easter Island) and New Zealand making up the three points of the Polynesian triangle.
The Samoan Islands (American Samoa and Independent Samoa) were first discovered by European explorers in the 18th Century but its islands have been inhabited for over 3000 years.
During international rivalries in the latter half of the 19th Century over the Samoa Islands, Germany and the United States divided the Samoan archipelago by the signing of the 1899 Berlin Treaty, with the US formally taking over the eastern islands of Samoa.
On April 17, 1900 the high chiefs of the eastern islands of Samoa and the US signed the ‘Deed of Cession’ where American Samoa became a Territory of the United States.
Today, the Territory of American Samoa is a growing Pacific economy with a central government, sound infrastructure and a growing business sector, with international flights from Hawaii and Samoa as well as shipping connections from New Zealand, Australia, Samoa, Hawaii and the US Mainland.
The Territory is regarded as one of the last undiscovered paradises of the Pacific with a tourism industry 100 percent locally owned and operated.

Where To Find Us

American Samoa is located in the Pacific Ocean, half way between Hawaii and New Zealand with the geographic coordinates of 14 16 S, 170 42 W. We are five hours flying time direct from Honolulu, Hawaii and 35 minutes by air from Apia, Samoa.

Geographical Features

American Samoa is made up of five volcanic islands - Tutuila, Anu’u, Ofu, Olosega and Ta’ū - with rugged mountainous peaks and two coral atolls – Rose and Swains Islands with a total land area of 76 square miles. The Territory’s tallest peak is Mount Lata on Ta’ū Island 3170 feet, while the highest peak on the main island of Tutuila is Mount Matafao standing at 2142 feet. Pago Pago Harbor on Tutuila Island is regarded as the best natural deep harbor in the South Pacific, surrounded and sheltered by sheer mountain walls and the peaks of Mount Alava, Mount Matafao and Rainmaker Mountain on three sides.

Facts & Figures

Political Status
American Samoa is an unincorporated and unorganized territory of the United States, administered by the Office of Insular Affairs, US Department of the Interior.
Executive Branch:
Chief of State – President Barack H. Obama
Head of Government
– Governor Lolo M. Moliga
– Made up of Government Department Directors
US House of Representative Delegate (Non-voting) Eni F. H. Faleomavaega
Legislative Branch:
Fono or Legislative Assembly consists of the Senate (18 seats) and the House of Representatives (21 seats).
– Pago Pago
Population – 55,000 +
Religion – Christian
Languages – Samoan and English

General Information

Entry Requirements
All visitors to American Samoa require a valid passport, return ticket or onward ticket and sufficient funds to support your stay. US Citizens and US Nationals do not require a visa and may enter and leave freely. Australian, New Zealand and citizens of the United Kingdom upon entering American Samoa are issued with a 30 day permit under the US Visa Waiver Program. All other international passport holders intending to visit American Samoa for business or holiday are required to apply for an entry visa. For further information contact the Attorney General’s Office, phone (1 684) 633-4163.

American Samoa has two major banks on island, the Bank of Hawaii and the ANZ Amerika Samoa Bank. Bank of Hawaii (BOH) has branches in Utulei (main branch), Pavai’ai and Tafuna open from 9.00am to 3.00pm Monday to Friday. BOH ATM machines can be found at: KS Mart; Laufou Shopping Center; Pavai’ai Haleck Building, BOH Tafuna branch and BOH Utulei branch. ANZ Bank Amerika Samoa (ANZ) has branches in Fagatogo (main branch) and Tafuna open from 9.00am to 4.00pm Monday to Friday and 9.00am to 12.00 noon on Saturdays. ANZ ATM machines can be found at: Pago Pago International Airport; Tradewinds Hotel; Kruse FJ & P Store Leone; Laufou Shopping Center; Cost U Less Ottoville; LBJ Hospital; Starkist Satala; ANZ Fagatogo branch and ANZ Tafuna branch.

The United States Dollar is the currency of American Samoa. Major foreign currencies can be exchanged at the local banks.

Commercial Hours
Government Offices and retail stores are open Monday to Friday from 8.00am to 4.00pm. Stores open on Saturdays from 8.00am to 2.00pm and the majority of retailers are all closed on Sundays.

110 volts using American power points.

American Samoa has a tropical climate all year roundwith two distinct seasons, the wet and dry season. The wet season is usually between December and March and the dry season from April through to September with the average daily temperature around 82˚- 83˚ Fahrenheit all year round.

Time Zone
American Samoa time is 11 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT – 11)

Samoan and English are spoken by over 95 percent ofthe population with English being the main business language.

The country dialing code to call American Samoa is (1 684). To make an overseas call from American Samoa dial (1), area code, then the phone number if calling the US and (011), area code and the phone number if calling any other country. The American Samoa Telecommunications Authority and Bluesky Communications sell overseas calling cards offering cheap international calling rates.